Day 20:

Day #20

Russell Field Shelter –> Derrick Knob Shelter

8.9 miles

189.3 Total AT miles

We had a rough night. Someone fell asleep with music on. I woke to it at 3am. Unable to fall asleep with the ruckus, I braved the cold the shook the mans tent till he woke. “Please turn off your music.” He didn’t, only turned it down a bit.

A few minutes later, Mr. Kool-Aid snapped, “TURN OFF THE F*CKING MUSIC!”

“I need it to cover up the snoring.”

“No-one is snoring, but your music is keeping everyone awake!” Says Mr. Kool-Aid. “Please, turn it off.”

“Since you put it like that, ok.”

We hiked on through a bit of fog and a slight bit of rain. Just enough to wet the trails but not ourselves. Sometime after noon, the clouds cleared and the sun pierced the sky just in time for us to find a bald.

We laid in the sun on top of the mountain soaking in the golden warmth for hours. It is one of my favorite moments; carefree relaxation with no-where to be and nothing to do but chill with new friends.

RyanBrown-4777
Morning through the door of my tent.
RyanBrown-4785
Mr. Kool-Aid getting ready to pack up.
RyanBrown-4790
The Derrick Knob Shelter through the mornings fog.
RyanBrown-4799
My Tarptent Moment.
RyanBrown-4803
Rhododendron leaves in the fog.
RyanBrown-4804
Inside one of the Smokey Mountain Shelters on a lunch break.
RyanBrown-4807
Mr. Kool-Aid’s kool-aid pin.
RyanBrown-4816
Walking in the mud.
RyanBrown-4824
My shoes on the muddy trails.
RyanBrown-4827
The Appalachian Trail winds through grassy patches in the fog.
RyanBrown-4836
Grass! I so wish I could camp here. Best mattress ever!
RyanBrown-4845
Just a little mud on my shoes and pants.
RyanBrown-4853
Three tarps keep the wind from this shelter.
RyanBrown-4855
We stopped at the shelter for a late lunch and found these bags hanging from the bear cables with no-one around. Creepy.
RyanBrown-4858
Stairs.

RyanBrown-4872RyanBrown-4878

RyanBrown-4886
We will lay on that bare spot on the mountain for hours basking in the sun like reptiles.
RyanBrown-4894
Hiking on.

RyanBrown-4898

RyanBrown-4902
The view from Rocky Top.
RyanBrown-4913
Taking in the view.
RyanBrown-4921
Whats up Golden Boy!
RyanBrown-4928
I took off my shoes and this earthworm crawled across my foot. Tickles!
RyanBrown-4932
My Shadow laying on Finch and loving every moment.
RyanBrown-4933
Me on the bald.
RyanBrown-4936
Orion, My Shadow, and Mountain Goat taking it easy.
RyanBrown-4943
Drying my tent while we sunbathe.
RyanBrown-4946
LadyBird writing in her journal.
RyanBrown-4960
My hat keeps the sun off my face.
RyanBrown-4963
My Shadow!
RyanBrown-4968
Mr. Kool-Aid having a moment.
RyanBrown-4973
Mountain Goats goat tattoos on her feet.
RyanBrown-4976
Mountain Goat showing off her bracelet to My Shadow. It has a sweet troll bead with green eyes.

RyanBrown-4989RyanBrown-4991RyanBrown-4994RyanBrown-4998

RyanBrown-5003
The shelters here in the Smokeys all have fireplaces in side. Talk about cozy!
RyanBrown-5023
Camping at Derrick Knob Shelter.
RyanBrown-5024
The Derrick Knob Shelter.
RyanBrown-5038
This pocket Rocket rip off exploded flames burning the ground and melting the supports. Crazy!

 

Leave a Reply

